Roodepoort Museum

Visit Website Add Favorites Contact Author

The Museum is open by appointment only.

Phone to 011 761 0225/6/8 to book your visit.

Admission fee payable: R20 per adult and R10 per child.

Educational programme most suitable for Grade 3-7 learners.

The History of the Roodepoort Museum

 

In the 1960s the West Rand Historical Society started to collect and preserve the cultural heritage of Roodepoort. In October 1963 they donated their historical collection to the then City Council of Roodepoort, who decided to house the collection in the library on a temporary basis.

 With funds provided by the Council, as well as numerous donations from residents, it was possible to open the first Museum on 21 April 1972. The Museum was lodged in a house at 18 Dieperick Street, Roodepoort and was very popular. The collection kept growing and soon the house was too small and plans had to be made to move to larger premises. On 30 June 1979 the Museum in Dieperink Street closed down and on 19 March 1982 the “New Roodepoort Museum” situated in the then newly build Civic Centre was officially inaugurated.  24 years later it was decided that, because of budget constrains, the Museum should close. This sparked an intense community reaction against such closure and the critical need for the Museum to showcase and house the memory of the region’s culture, achievements and values were made very clear. Through the concerted efforts of The Friends of Roodepoort Museum and with the support of the City of Johannesburg’s Department of Community Development, it was possible to re-launch the Roodepoort Museum on 14 November 2007.


Address Roodepoort City Museum, Civic Centre, Christiaan de Wet Road, Florida Park, Roodepoort, 1709
Telephone (011) 761 0225/6/8
Category